The four REC committees work to achieve the REC’s strategic objectives:

  • Campaigning and advocating for high-quality education in religion and worldviews
  • Building thriving relationships within the REC
  • Creating a fit-for-purpose and sustainable REC

The REC advertises vacancies on committees to member organisations via email, inviting expressions of interest to join a particular committee. Members may then apply or recommend colleagues who they feel would be an asset to a committee. The REC Board will scrutinise applications and select individuals based on the skills and experience (if applicable) that would be most valuable to the committee at the time.

RE Policy Unit (strategic partnership with NATRE and RE Today)

Deborah Weston (Chair), Peter Ward, Ed Pawson, Zoe Keens, Mubina Khan-Daniels, Fiona Moss, Katie Freeman, Naomi Anstice, Zameer Hussain, Paul Smalley, Ben Wood, Andrew Copson. Supported by Peter Hand (PCC), Sebastian Philips (PCC), Melissa Barnett (PCC), Colin Hallmark (3:nine), Mike McMaster (REC), Samantha Laight (REC – minutes and administration).

Member Engagement Committee

Kathryn Wright (Chair), Sarah Lane Cawte, Céline Benoit, Rebecca Morteo, Tulsi Seva Dasi, Patricia Hannam

Fundraising Committee

Ed Pawson (Chair), Rosemary Rivett, Sandra Teacher

Governance Committee

Sarah Lane Cawte (Chair), Kathy Riddick, Peter Ward, Robin Taylor, Satnam Poonian Singh

Finance Committee

Rosemary Rivett (Chair), Philip Robinson, Sydney Braham