The RE Council AGM took place at Conway Hall on 10th May 2018.  In addition to the required business involving approving the Annual Report and receiving the organisation’s accounts, the RE Council’s member organisations’ authorised representatives heard a keynote presentation from Mark Evans HMI, the Ofsted RE National Lead.

There were elections for all 12 positions on the RE Council’s Board.  Members of the new Board will take up their roles from 1st September 2018.  Trevor Cooling was re-elected as Chair, Dave Francis was re-elected as Deputy Chair, Andrew Copson was elected as Treasurer, and Deborah Weston was elected as Company Secretary.  In addition, Aliya Azam, Ed Pawson, Kathryn Wright, Mark Chater, Philip Robinson, Sandra Teacher, Satnam Singh Poonian, and Sushma Sahajpal were elected as regular Board members.

There were votes on three membership applications.  Members voted that the Bible Society’s application satisfied the RE Council’s membership criteria by 35 votes to 3, as did the Nishkam School Trust’s application by 36 votes to 2: both organisations were therefore accepted into membership.  Members voted that the application from the National Secular Society’s application did not meet the membership criteria by 19 votes to 18: this application will be further reviewed by the RE Council Board.

There was a comprehensive report from Chief Executive Rudolf Eliott Lockhart on the RE Council’s activities over the previous six months.  The full text of the report is available here: AGM 2018 – CEO’s report.